powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

current entry
older entries
profile
notes
email
lex designs
diaryland

.....

2002-05-26 - 1:32 p.m.
the "where have you been all my life" donut

i went to the dancefloor..couldn't believe my eyes..i looked all around..saw so many guys..i asked myself could this really be...debbie deb

some of you don't know what's happening..que pasa..it's not for you anyway..this is for la raza...kid frost

yawn....

well, last night/this morning was lots of fun. i was recruited to help decorate for my cousins wedding. this was not a problem...at first. so, i get to my aunts at 7:30 yesterday morning, and the girl who is in charge of the decorating is late. so, she gets there, and we still have to drive to the hall, which is in a bigger city about half an hour away. we get there, and the decorator girl is late getting THERE too. so, it's me my baby bruddah, and a three of my uncles nieces, and 1 woman who works with the then bride to be. so, we get started, and like an hour into it, the nieces leave. they have to get ready. then there were 3. so, we're working like the dickens, and it's 11:30, and the wedding starts at 12, and i'd have to drive back to "smltwn" (1/2 hour), and get ready, and drive to the church, another 1/2 hour. yes, we have a catholic church in smltwn, but it was booked, and yes we have a hall in smltwn, 2 in fact, but, one is being remodeled, and the other has raised their prices dramatically. my cousin and his now wife are young, already have a little boy, and are definitely not rolling in dough, nor are their parents. so, i am definitely gonna miss the ceremony. matt calls my cell, and i'm outside smoking a cig, and pist, cuz hey i'm not a chick, but i live in smltwn too, and i have to get ready too, and me being me, i don't want to leave cuz it just didn't seem right. YES the decorator girl was late, but now here we were, and the place has to be decorated...period. anyway,i tell him to forget the ceremony, and just to pick me up for the reception/dance. so, it's a quarter to twelve, and the decorator girls cell rings, and it's her son, who along w/ his brother, are in the wedding. it seems that they left their boutinneres (sp?) in smltwn, and they're without. so, she whips two up in a jif, and asks if i can run them to the church. i say yes, of course, and i'm off. the church is like 15 minutes away, and it's 11:50? maybe. so, i'm trying to hurry, but this city where the hall is has to be the stoplight capitol of the world. every...5 inches or something. then my mom calls, "where are you" "oh, just leaving the hall" "you're kidding" "no. no, i'm not" "what happened" "everybody left, and it had to get done...so i stayed" "are you okay" (an obvious, yet subtle way of asking just how pist i am) "i'm trying real hard right now...REAL hard" "i know. just go home, eat, and we'll call you when we get home from the wedding" "actually i'll be there in a few minutes", then go on to explain about the boutinnere thingies, and so, when i get there, about 12:05, my parents are both waiting outside the church, and they come up to my car, and i hand them the boutinneres, and they give me a sympathetic smile, and my dad reaches in and squeezes my neck, and says, "we'll see you later". i cannot tell you how much that meant to me at that moment. i was feeling screwed, and unappreciated, and...well...just mad, you know? i bought stuff for the wedding, i went to help decorate, and i'm the only cousin who wasn't there. i've seen all my cousin's get married, and..i don't know. forget it. i know that yesterday had nothing to do with me. it was not my day, in any way, and i KNOW that. so...i'll just stop now. sorry. the reception was fun. all my family, and great food. my mom, and her sisters made it. rice, beans, and the famous "wedding meat". delicious, mouth watering, and oh so popular, it is marinated shredded beef. of course, it's soooo much more than that, but that's all i can really say. just to die for. the music was the same. it's always the same, but it's supposed to be. it's a so cal mexican wedding. i can't explain it any other way. the bride looked beautiful, and my little cousin, so handsome. they dance the first dance as husband, and wife to "always & forever" by heatwave, then "fire & desire" by rick james, and teena marie. it was perfect. if you don't know these songs...well, i don't know. these are part of my chicano/latino/mexican-american experience. the soundtrack to much of my life. "reasons" by earth, wind & fire. all the "old school" that was brand new when i was like in 4th-8th grade. god, i can't even tell you. you may not know it by looking at me, but play some "atomic dog", and i'll come a runnin'. i'm not explaining myself very well, but it's a beautiful thing. it really is. then we cleaned up the hall, and headed back home to smltwn...thank god. we went to my aunt and uncles for MENUDO!!! i love menudo. then we stayed drinkin', and smokin', til around 4, and then we came home. i tried to attempt to have drunken fumble sex, but it was a no go. i basically passed out. so, this morning i had a nice leisurely encounter. i'm pretty much fucking worthless right now. i need sleep, but the sun is out, and if the sun is out, i don't sleep. i'm not a napper. oh, seeing my cousin/best friend, was also a highlight. her, and her husband spent the night at my place. we had a long discussion about krispy kreme donuts, i said i couldn't tell the diff between them, and any other donut. she agreed by saying, "they're good, but not like, 'where have you been all my life' good". i got a kick outta that. let's see, what else. the look on my aunts (mother of the groom) face when she danced with my cousin (groom) was enough to make my eyes water. so beautiful...family...the best...

p.s. my aunt and uncle both seperately came up to me, and thanked me for staying to help, and it was very nice, and it made it all worth it.

-take it / leave it-

older entries:
when the walls come tumbling down - 2007-08-17
long weekend - 2007-05-21
gays gone wild - 2007-04-22
fried and objectified - 2007-03-13
fried and objectified - 2007-03-13

designed by lex; hosted by diaryland.

The WeatherPixie