powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

current entry
older entries
profile
notes
email
lex designs
diaryland

.....

2006-09-21 - 10:21 a.m.
o, brother, where art thou?

i think it's special what's behind your back - justin timberlake

so, my brother went off to school, saturday. him and my parents left for the airport early, so, matty and i were at the house to say goodbye.

he held me so tight that i think that more than anything is what got my eyes watering. hugging me tightly, telling me he loved me. we held each other for a super long time, kissing each others cheeks, like we were never gonna see each other again. corny.

anyway, i actually had to be at work by 7am, so, i had to say my final goodbye to him and my parents and leave for work. i was a little verklempt on the way to work, but, i decided it was a good thing that i had to work, since i'd have something to focus on that day. whereas, if i'd stayed home, i probably woulda been an inconsolable mess.

my parents called that evening, letting me know that they got to oregon okay, and everything was cool. they'd just come back from eating at the best pizza place in the world, american dreamz pizza. we'd found it when we all went to oregon a few months ago, to check out my brothers' school. it's fucking good pizza, dude.

they came back, yesterday. we went over and they told us all about getting my brother moved in, and his suitemates, and shopping for his fridge, and sheets, etc..

it sounds like everything went surprisingly well. my family has the tendency to freak out when something goes wrong. it's like: OH MY GOD!! EVERYTHING'S RUINED!! FUCK!!

also, when something goes wrong, it's absolutely GOT to be somebodys fault. things just can't go wrong because things sometimes do. it's got to be because of something someone did, or, didn't do.

so, then the blame starts and.....well, it's good times, people, lemme tell ya.

i'm the quiet one, right?, so, i just kinda let my parents flip out, and don't say too much of anything....until i get fuckin pist.

then, the funniest thing happens, once i get my mad on, it shuts everyone up. i mean, everyone.

it's so nice, actually.

enough of that.

so, i've emailed my brother only once, and i figure i'll write him at least once a week. i don't wanna bug. i know that he's in a new enviroment, making new friends, doing lots of schoolwork, experimenting with drugs, skirt chasing, etc.....

it was so cute, yesterday, he called and the first thing he told me was, "i miss you". awwwww.....then, he asked if i was coming next month. i feel for the kid. as of yesterday, after my parents left, he's all alone, family wise. he's got his suitemates, and all, but, now he's got no family up there.

i just hope that he doesn't let it get him down too much. he did tell me that his ra is really cool, and he was just kinda standing around watching all the kids, and his ra came up, and she grabbed his arm and took him up to a group of kids and introduced him and just kinda threw him into things.

now, for me, that would be terrifying. but, for my brother, he'd be okay with that. he says it's like all the people there are super friendly and nice and helpful. he also likes his roommate alot. they've never met until recently, but, they'd been writing online through some program setup by the school. the kid is also from southern california. down in oc somewhere, i believe. so, they've got that in common. sounds good.

so far, so good, right?

i had taken him to go see little miss sunshine, last week. just the two of us. afterwards, we ate at bj's. their avocado eggrolls are the fucking nuts. we talked about lots of stuff, and i gave him some pearls of wisdom and just kinda tried to do the big brother thing. it was good.

about little miss sunshine: fanfuckingtastic movie!! whatever you think it's all about, it's so much more. it's just wonderful. funny, sad, oddly life affirming, and it makes you feel something, you know? the entire cast is terrific. two thumbs up!!

i think we're gonna check out the black dahlia, tonight. can you believe that being such a james ellroy freak, that i haven't already seen it?

we were all set to go sunday, but, i cut my hair, and matty ended up with me in the shower, one thing led to another, and we stayed home.

things are going well. i'm feeling less closed up and that's good, right?

tom petty, next week. i'm hoping to the heavens above that stevie nicks comes out and they do "stop dragging my heart around". that would be the motherfucking shit, dude, seriously. also, i love love love that the strokes are opening. super stoked.

later.....

-take it / leave it-

older entries:
when the walls come tumbling down - 2007-08-17
long weekend - 2007-05-21
gays gone wild - 2007-04-22
fried and objectified - 2007-03-13
fried and objectified - 2007-03-13

designed by lex; hosted by diaryland.

The WeatherPixie