powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

current entry
older entries
profile
notes
email
lex designs
diaryland

.....

2003-06-09 - 11:22 p.m.
how lucky can one guy be....

we are family - sister sledge

hey

my party fucking ruled!! my family and friends made it a fun, touching, crazy-ass night. my cousin's all decided to buy me bottles of various alcoholic products. my aunts/uncles decided to give me money. my friends gave me everything from gift certificates to my fave mex joint, to a red velvet jesus piggy bank. very diverse. just like them.

here's the mushy part: after a rousing rendition of happy birthday, i blew out my candles, and thought i was done. then my aunt says, "wait a minute. we have to do the toast". then her and my cousin start pouring the champagne. i was starting to get a little embarrassed. only cuz i was standing in the middle of all these people, and i knew that someone was gonna say things about me, and like i don't know, you know? that was kinda weird. anyway, everyone's ready and my mom says some really nice stuff, and my cousin who's like 6 years younger than me, says, "thank you for telling my mom we were going to the movies, and getting me drunk when i was 16". then my uncle says, "thanks for throwing up all over my tux that one time.", and some of my other cousins add on to all these embarrassing, but funny little anecdotes. everyone was cracking up. then one of my aunts very simply states, "thank you for being you." then my nina (godmother) says, "you're my other boy" (meaning in addition to her one son), and they all toast me.

oh man. that did it. i was trying so hard not to cry, but, it was no use. i managed to say, "without getting all mushy", but it was too late. i couldn't even look up when i said that. i continued, "i love you all, and i'm just...just thank you for everything", while my voice was cracking. then some of my family members (the ones i'm particularly clost to) came up and hugged me. it was fucking awesome. i can't even tell you. i love my family, and i know they love me, but to feel it so completely, and be...bombarded with it was awesome. that's awesome in the literal sense. i'd never felt so loved in my life. i really can't convey how incredible that felt. then my other aunt says, "okay, now let's get drunk".

nice segue.

anyway, it was fantastic night. really fucking rad, you know? i drank a lot. i smoked some killer fucking bud, and at 5 in the morning i wasn't sure if i was gonna pass out or ralph it. it was just like high school. oy. it was so much fun.

back to my family and what they did for me, i will never ever forget that. it will forever be one of the greatest moments of my life.

all of that and my sweet boy at my side. how did i get so lucky?

later...

-take it / leave it-

older entries:
when the walls come tumbling down - 2007-08-17
long weekend - 2007-05-21
gays gone wild - 2007-04-22
fried and objectified - 2007-03-13
fried and objectified - 2007-03-13

designed by lex; hosted by diaryland.

The WeatherPixie